07.07.07

July 9, 2007 at 2:42 pm 2 comments

“Remember remember, the fifth of November, the gunpowder, treason and plot. For I see no reason why the gunpowder treason, should ever be forgot.”

-V in V for Vendetta-

Though it might seem misplaced, this little poem from V for Vendetta one of my absolute favorite movies came to mind on the 07 July 2007. The day that was quietly forgotten or should I say conveniently forgotten. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not the kind to look for an excuse to shout out ‘rebel, rebel’ in fact I’m also guilty of letting this day go ………………… quietly.

The reason I took to reflect on the importance of this day and the linking it to V for Vendetta, was a simple question, Did we really get what we set out for?

Seventeen years, seventeen years since the first ‘Saba Saba’ rallies (which to point out was the largest outcry for democracy) were held. Seventeen years since our fathers, mothers, sisters and brothers stepped up and voiced what we didn’t because of fear and a decade of persecution, pain and torture.   Seventeen years ago began the struggle, a struggle that the outcome enables me to write this blog. We have come far as Kenyans, but I AM ASHAMED OF MYSELF.

I am ashamed I haven’t been true to those who fought for what I enjoy, I have turned my back once again to heroes and heroines that shaped today. I did it first by insulting our freedom fighters by forgetting them and I’m appalled at myself on how easy this betrayal to our heroes & heroines memories has once again occured.

So I’m not political (you can tell since my politics page isn’t as up to date) but its no excuse for me or any other Kenyan to let these vital memories fade to ashes.

“Remember remember, the fifth of November, the gunpowder, treason and plot. For I see no reason why the gunpowder treason, should ever be forgot.”

I did a google image search of saba saba looking for pics to remind us all ………………………. this post has no pictures.

“Remember remember, the fifth of November, the gunpowder, treason and plot. For I see no reason why the gunpowder treason, should ever be forgot.”

Entry filed under: politics.

KENYA RE IPO TIPS AND TRICKS: School Girls?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Shiroh  |  July 10, 2007 at 7:49 pm

    I remember that day as if it was yesterday. So much for all that blood. We have achieved a lot in terms of democracy. There was a time it was treason to think a president would die.

  • 2. Renee  |  July 17, 2007 at 9:46 am

    we’ve achieved alot alright but lets not forget we still have a long way to go. en what’s with these coalitions???? Should we read into them? is this really democracy?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



